2013: UT-San Diego’s All-Time, All-County Football Team


Quarterback Ezell Singleton San Diego 1958
Running Backs C. R. Roberts Oceanside 1953
Tyler Gaffney Cathedral Catholic 2008
Darrin Wagner Lincoln 1987
Receivers Patrick Rowe Lincoln 1986
Art Powell San Diego 1954
Line Jack Harrington Rancho Buena Vista 1988
Lincoln Kennedy Morse 1988
Steve Riley Castle Park 1968
Robbie Coffin Mira Mesa 1983
Steve Vieria Carlsbad 1999
Athletes Deron Johnson San Diego 1955
Charlie Powell San Diego 1950
Reggie Bush Helix 2002
Bill Fudge El Capitan 1970


Line Ed Imo Kearny 1973
La’Roi Glover Point Loma 1991
Tamasi Amituani Vista 1988
Arthur Smith Lincoln 1963
Linebackers Junior Seau Oceanside 1986
Pisa Tinoisamoa Vista 1998
Greg Slough Point Loma 1964
Travis Hitt Grossmont 1971
Secondary Marcus Allen Lincoln 1977
Willie Buchanon Oceanside 1968
Monte Jackson St. Augustine 1970
Eric Allen Point Loma 1982
Athletes Dave Grayson Lincoln  1956
Dokie Williams El Camino 1977
Darnay Scott Kearny 1990
Kicker Noel Prefontaine El Camino 1991


Quarterback Sal Aunese Vista 1985
Running backs Dillon Baxter Mission Bay 2010
Michael Hayes San 1974
Markeith Ross Rancho Buena Vista 1989
Receivers Glenn Kozlowski Carlsbad 1980
Harold (Brick) Muller San Diego 1916
Line Erik Magnuson La Costa Canyon 2011
Pete Adams University 1968
Pulu Poumele Oceanside 1989
Volney Peters Hoover 1947
Hobbs Adams San Diego 1922
Athletes Cleveland Jones San Diego 1956
Teddy Lawrence Morse 1990
Allan Clark San Marcos 1973
Cotton Warburton San Diego 1930


Line David Gates Morse 1994
Jimmy Gunn Lincoln 1965
Dan Saleaumua Sweetwater 1981
Ty Morrison Morse 1988
Linebackers Ted Johnson Carlsbad 1991
Frank Stephens San Diego 1974
Donnie Edwards Chula Vista 1990
Zeke Moreno Castle Park 1996
Secondary Leon Hall Vista 2002
Bryant Westbrook El Camino 1992
Chuck Cecil Helix 1982
Willie West San Diego 1955
Athletes Nate Shaw Lincoln 1962
Jose Perez Oceanside 2002
Lenny McGill Orange Glen 1988
Kicker Scott Webb Helix 1982


Quarterback Pete Gumina San Diego 1955
Running backs Roger Price Vista 1985
Ricky Williams Henry 1994
Rashaan Salaam La Jolla Country Day 1991
Receivers Bill McColl Hoover 1947
Kenny Stills La Costa Canyon 2009
Line John Michaels La Jolla 1990
Tom Dabasinskas San Pasqual 1985
Tom Dahms San Diego 1944
Calvert Fackrell San Diego 1957
Sale Isaia Oceanside 1989
Athletes J.J. Stokes Point Loma 1989
Bill Dunckel Fallbrook 1986 1986
Touissant Tyler El Camino 1976
Wally Henry Lincoln 1973


Line Russell Tialavea Oceanside 1985
Darrell Russell St. Augustine 1993
Okland Salavea Oceanside 1985
Dan Daris Oceanside 1975
Linebackers Barry McKeever San Pasqual 1983
Jeff Staggs Point Loma 1961
David Lewis Lincoln 1972
Brandon Chillar Carlsbad 1999
Secondary John Lynch Torrey Pines 1988
Jim Smith Kearny 1963
Stefan McClure Vista 2010
Ronnie Cortell Sweetwater 1984
Athletes Frank Green Coronado 1929
Pesky Sprott San Diego 1916
Jerome Price University City 1989
Kicker Nate Tandberg Rancho Bernardo 1995

Team chosen by:
Steve Brand, retired U-T staff writer;
Nick Canepa, U-T columnist;
Bill Center, U-T staff writer;
Jess Kearney, U-T deputy sports editor;
John Maffei, U-T staff writer;
Terry Monahan, U-T staff writer; and
Rick Smith, San Diego sports historian.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2013: UT-San Diego’s All-Time, All-County Football Team

  1. Jesse Hermanson says:

    Kevin McCadam?
    El Capitan 1996

  2. Dennis says:

    How can you have a list without Marcus Allen on it…you might want to rethink this list!

  3. Jon Vivian says:

    If my memory is correct, El Cajon had a stacked shot put team during that period of time. I believe Dave Hampton was his name? I think he held the county record at that time. Full beard mountain man looking in high school. Another was Brian Barrow I think. They had 4 athletes going over 55 feet at the time and if my memory serves me correctly that since only 3 could compete in a dual meet, there were some weeks Malone didn’t even make the team!

    • Rick says:

      You’re right. El Cajon was loaded in the weights in 1974. Curt Hampton still ranks third all-time in San Diego County with a best of 65-11 1/4. Mark Malone was a sophomore and had the third-best distance in the County, 57-5. Bob Barrows was fourth at 57 feet, 1/2 inch, and another shot putter, last name Dereld (sp?), had a best of 52-10 1/2. Granite Hills even had three shot putters with bests from 54-4 to 56-0. Malone had a discus best of 174 feet, tops in the County, and won the CIF meet at 170-10. Malone was 11th in qualifying in the state trials at Bakersfield with 161-8. Malone didn’t qualify for state in the shot put, finishing fifth at 54-10 in the San Digo Section meet. You’re right about 3 men per event in dual meets, but Malone also ran the sprints and hurdles and triple jumped, so he probably was asked to concentrate on some events where El Cajon Valley needed points.

  4. Jon Vivian says:

    Surprised to not see Mark Malone from El Cajon in the mid 70’s. Then again, I played against him at Santana and never knew he was all that until years later. He was a man among boys. Shotput, discus, surprised to not even see him listed as an athlete.

    • Rick says:

      It’s hard to argue against Mark Malone. We’ve received our share of just criticism, not so much for the selected players, but for the ones we left out. I think we could have picked 6 or 7 teams and still omitted quality athletes. Mark was a fine football player who went on to play quarterback 10 seasons in the NFL, including one with the Chargers. I think he was better as a track athlete, competing in several events. Mark held the County record of 192 feet, 6 inches,in the discus for 14 years, until Brian Ames of El Capitan went over 199 feet in 1990. Mark had a very disappointing state track meet at Berkeley in 1976, but he more than made up for that by virtually carrying the El Cajon Valley program for 4 years. The football team won the Grossmont League and had a 8-1 record with Malone and Le Roy Magee leading the way in 1975, the Braves’ only loss coming to Mission Bay in the playoffs. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *