2015: San Diegans Close With a Rush

Five bests in the state meet, nine in the season’s final two weeks and some competitive  efforts in the finals at Clovis Buchanan High allowed area tracksters to finish on a strong note.

15stateprogram0608150001Weak in the flat races as compared to the rest of the state and with only one sprinter in the state’s Top 10, San  Diego Section athletes still earned 13 medals and scored 57 points. By comparison, the Section had eight medals and 38 points in 2014.

Oceanside, with strong performances by Charles Lenford and Jordan Miller, was fifth in team scoring with 23.

Lenford’s powerful performance in  the discus produced a gold medal.  He opened with a 189-foot, 11-inch throw that blew out the competition and finished with a 195-4, sixth longest in section history.

Lenford, a junior, will lead the cast of returnees already thinking about 2016. Medal-winning underclassmen also  included Nia Akins, Dani Johnson, Laulauga Tausaga, and sophomore Kiley McCarthy.

Junior Tanner Batthika didn’t make it past the long jump trials but his 24-2 long jump in the Section finals ranks among the leaders in his event.

San Diego Section athletes in the state Top 10, with rankings in parenthesis:


100 Suzie Acolatse (4) Mission Hills :11.46w :11.24w Francis Oxnard Rio Mesa
200 Acolatse (7) :23.69 :22.68w Williams Westlake Village Oaks Christian
800 Kiley McCarthy (7T) Carlsbad 2:08.85 2:07.09 Schroeder Santa BarbaraSan Marcos
Nia Akins (9) Rancho Bernardo 2:09.07 2:08.44 Smith Clovis North
100 Hurdles Dani Johnson (10) Cathedral :13.88 :13.17 Graham Corona Eleanor Roosevelt
300H Johnson (3) :41.34 :40.73 Graham
Leah Molter (7) Valhalla :42.32
Shot Put Laulauga Tausaga (3) Mount Miguel 48-3 ½ 53-5 ½ Bruckner San Jose Valley Christian
Discus Tausaga (4) 156-7 182-8 Bruckner
4×400 Relay Cathedral (6) 3:47.63 3:43.33 Inglewood St. Mary’s College


Shot Put Lenford (4) Oceanside 61-8 72-0 Katnik Bellflower San John Bosco
Discus Lenford (1) 195-4 194-8 McMorris Santa Ana Mater Dei
Pole Vault Tristan Zawadski (8T) Patrick Henry 15-7 16-3 ¼ Laut El Dorado Hills Oak Ridge
High Jump Cedell Morris (6T) Steel Canyon 6-9 7-0 Burke (1T) Lemoore
Holmes (1T) Roseville Oakmont
Thomas (1T) Mountain View St. Francis
Long Jump Tanner Batthika (4) St. Augustine 24-2 24-10 ½ Vann Oxnard Rio Mesa
Jordan Miller (6) Oceanside 24 ½
Triple Jump Miller (4) 48-4 49-9 ¾ Brooks Kingsburg



Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2015
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Track & Field. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *