2015: Hamamoto Lone Active 200-game Winner

Ten active coaches are among the 41 who have won at least 100 games in the San Diego Section as teams  begin practice this week in advance of opening games Aug. 28.

Ron Hamamoto, 201-127-4 in 30 years at University, Rancho Bernardo, Lincoln, and Monte Vista, ranks eighth on the all-time list, 12 victories ahead of Rob Gilster, 189-117-5 at Orange Glen and Valley Center, 47 behind leader John Carroll, who retired at Oceanside after the 2014 season.

A 12-win season would tie Hamamoto with Jim Arnaiz, No. 7 all time with a 213-77-11 record in 27 campaigns at Helix.

At least two more could reach 100 wins this year. Damian Gonzalez is 92-77-3 in 14 seasons at Army-Navy and Poway, and Paul Gomes is 91-75-7 in 12 seasons at Escondido and Rancho Buena Vista.

Others moving up but still seasons away are Vista’s Dan Williams, 73-54-2 in 11 seasons, and Helix’ Troy Starr, 72-16-1 in six, and El Capitan’s Ron Burner, 70-44-2 in 10.

Damon Baldwin is 69-43-1 in 10 seasons at Ramona, Brian Hay 69-84 in 15 at El Centro Southwest, Hilltop, Mar Vista, and Sweetwater, and Tom Karlo 68-43-2 in 11 at Mount Miguel and Grossmont.

Go here for the complete “Coach 100 Club“, or click the Football menu item and then Coach 100 Club.

Please email Rick@partletonsports.com with corrections or additions.

The active leaders:

Name School Record Pct. Rank/Years
Ron Hamamoto (1) Monte Vista 201-127-4 .611 8/30
Ron Gilster (2) Valley Center 189-117-5 .616 11/26
Willie Matson (3) Mission Bay 170-123-6 .573 12/26
Sean Doyle Cathedral 155-79 .662 14/19
Gary Blevins Mira Mesa 132-97-4 .575 20/21
Matt Oliver Christian 128-56-3 .693 26/16
Chris Hauser (4) Mission Hills 124-57-2 .680 28/15
Jerry Ralph (5) Hoover 121-68-2 .636 30/16
Mike  Hastings Point Loma 120-77-4 .607 33/17
Rick Jackson Madison 100-31-1 .761 40/11

1) Hamamoto also was at University, Rancho Bernardo, and Lincoln.                                                                                                                   2) Gilster also was  at Orange Glen.                                                                                                                                                                           3) Matson also was at Kearny, Hoover, and University City.                                                                                                                                     4) Hauser also was at Vista.                                                                                                                                                                                         5) Ralph also was at Santana, St. Augustine, and Del Norte.  

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2015
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015: Hamamoto Lone Active 200-game Winner

  1. DJ Walcott says:

    For your page here… http://www.partletonsports.com/?page_id=5631

    *John Morrison record at Parker is 156-70-2. His 27-year record as a head coach is 209-106-2. (Lake Forest Academy – 9 yrs.)

    Thanks… Love your site!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *